Quick Links

Useful Links

GSO Test

GSO Test


During your child's time in Nursery and Reception, they will learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

EYFS Children insects

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

EYFS awe and wonder holy cross

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Our teachers will support your child to make sure that the activities provided are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

The emphasis on how children learn has huge potential to transform early years practice and empower children as confident, creative lifelong learners.

At Holy Cross, our children are encouraged to follow their interests, to make independent choices about their learning - they are supported to develop their thinking skills through skilful adult interactions. 

‘What children learn is important, but how children learn is even more important if they are to become learners in today’s society.’ Helen Moylett
How Children Learn, Nancy Stewart (2011)



EYFS children garden Holy Cross

Writing whiteboards EYFS Holy Cross

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

This is document we use at Holy Cross to plan for children in the Early Years: 






Playdough EYFS Holy Cross


Educational/Learning Apps for Early Years Parents


One Billion Maths Apps - MATHS APPS ages 3-5

Bugs and Buttons - Adventures in Learning

The Learning Company - Little Books (Set 1) 

Seek and Find Toybox - Interactive animations with hidden details to find

Lily and Band - Orchestra and Instruments 

Domi Domi Blocks - Hand/Eye coordination, attention, focus and pattern

Jolly Phonics - App tp support the Jolly Phonics programme 

Ladybird Books - I'm reading for Phonics 

Little Things Forever - a search and find app (Tricky but great for focussing attention) 

Hoopa City - Problem Solving and City building

Hip Hop Hen - Phonics 

Endless Wordplay - Rhyming games